Friday, May 27, 2011

Department of Education Announces $200 million to Continue State-Led Reforms Under Race to the Top

The Department of Education announced this week that the nine finalist states that did not win grants in the first two rounds of Race to the Top (RTT) will be eligible to compete for $200 million in additional funds this year. Applications will be available in the early fall.

The nine states, Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and South Carolina, can seek grants ranging from $10 million to $50 million, depending on state size and the final number of grants. Given that these grants are smaller than the ones originally applied for, states will work with the U.S Department of Education to update their RTT plans to reflect a more limited scope of work.

According to the press release, the Department of Education chose to make the $200 million available in a competition among Race to the Top finalists in order to support states that have demonstrated capacity and commitment around bold reform plans that address the Obama Administration’s four core reforms: raising academic standards, building cradle to career data systems, investing in great teachers and leaders, and turning around persistently low-performing schools.

For more information check out our previous entries regarding the Race to the Top Fund. 

No comments:

Post a Comment