Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Eight States Receive NCLB Waivers

Moving forward with reform efforts, the Department of Education (ED) has granted No Child Left Behind (NCLB) flexibility to eight additional states. The states include:
  • Connecticut 
  • Delaware 
  • Louisiana 
  • Maryland 
  • New York 
  • North Carolina 
  • Ohio 
  • Rhode Island 
States that receive NCLB flexibility waivers must propose plans that address college and career readiness, accountability and teacher and principal effectiveness. As part of the second round in the NCLB waivers process, this week’s announcement brings the total number of states with waivers to 19. Eighteen additional waiver applications submitted in the second round are still under review.

For more information on the waiver process, please view this post from our blog describing guidance provided by the White House and ED. You can also click on the "No Child Left Behind - ESEA" link in the "Categories" section on the right side of our blog for additional information about the waiver process, as well as other developments in the reauthorization of NCLB that are related to community change efforts.
Stay tuned to our blog for future updates about NCLB.

No comments:

Post a Comment