Thursday, July 19, 2012

Seven Additional States Receive NCLB Waiver Requests

The Obama Administration announced today that it has granted No Child Left Behind (NCLB) waiver requests to seven additional states. Today’s announcement brings the total number of states that have received waivers to 32. The seven states announced today include:
  • Arizona 
  • Kansas 
  • Michigan 
  • Mississippi 
  • Oregon 
  • South Carolina 
  • District of Columbia 
The first waiver requests were granted in February 2012. Since May, a total of 22 waiver requests have been approved. Five additional waiver requests are still under review. The 13 states that have not yet applied for waivers requests have until September 6th to apply.

For more information on the waiver process, please view this post from our blog describing guidance provided by the White House and ED. You can also click on the "No Child Left Behind - ESEA" link in the "Categories" section on the right side of our blog for additional information about the waiver process, as well as other developments in the reauthorization of NCLB that are related to community change efforts.

Stay tuned to our blog for future updates about NCLB.

No comments:

Post a Comment