Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Department of Education Announces Race to the Top Round Three Grantees

The Department of Education (DOE) recently announced that seven states will receive a share of $200 million as part of round three of the Race to the Top (RTT) initiative.  The winners are:
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
As finalists in round two of RTT, these seven states were invited to apply for round three funding after demonstrating their commitment to the RTT’s goals, including: improving academic standards, turning around persistently low-performing schools and implementing science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education into broader reform efforts.  These round three winners bring the total number of states implementing RTT initiatives to 22.

For more information about Race to the Top, please click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment